h1

LEELA talks to Blues & Soul!

June 15, 2010

At last!

Leela James has been in conversation with our friends at Blues & Soul magazine, to talk about her outstanding debut record for Stax, My Soul.

Says Leela to Blues & Soul’s Pete Lewis:

“With this album I wanted to make sure that I showed all sides of me – in terms of variety in the music and in my vocal range – while at the same time making it clear that every song deeply came from my soul. Plus I also wanted to incorporate a little more hip hop this time and infuse it with my traditional R&B – because I felt that, by making my beats edgier and harder-hitting, I’d show there was more to me than just doing ballads and things of that sort. Then lyrically – while I wanted some of it to be about love and some of it about social issues – whether I was talking about good things or bad things, I still wanted to make sure I was singing about REAL things.”

Read the interview in full here:

 http://www.bluesandsoul.com/feature/544/leela_james_soul_purpose/

Leave a Reply

