h1

LEDISI speaks to Vibe about PIECES OF ME

June 1, 2011

There’s a great new interview with Ledisi talking to Vibe magazine about the forthcoming album Pieces of Me.

Says Ledisi on the two year hiatus since the last album:

“It took me eight months to really get into the writing process and it took me and my executive producer Rex Rideout eight months to battle it out about what direction to go. He’s always been there, but now I wanted him to be seen for what he does for me. He’s like a thread that keeps everything attached together. And this time he said, “What is Ledisi radio?” “What do you wanna do?” “What do you wanna express?”  “People know you but they don’t know who you are, we need to see that part, we need to hear it, we need that, it has to be consistent.” So we were battling out about, well “I don’t wanna do this and I don’t wanna do that,” and he’s like “Show it you need to show that part.” And it built my confidence up. And that’s what took so long, just building my confidence up to really deal with the fullness of being a woman and showing those sides, despite what others might think, I’m very shy and now I’ve had to show all that and it feels good, it feels really good revealing all these things. ”

Read the interview in full here:

http://vibe.com/posts/ledisi-speaks-pieces-me-and-her-time-away-recording

Leave a Reply

