September 25, 2012


Compiled by Jo Wallace, this two CD collection of classic, yet lesser known, Motown tracks that have become Northern Soul dance favorites. 40 tracks including cuts from The Supremes, Stevie Wonder, The Four Tops, The Contours, Marvin Gaye and many others.


Disc 1

1. Supremes – Love Is Like An Itching In My Heart
2. Stevie Wonder – Nothings Too Good For My Baby
3. Four Tops – Shake Me, Wake Me
4. Smokey Robinson & The Miracles – Whole Lot Of Shakin Goin On In My Heart
5. Edwin Starr – Stop Her On Sight
6. Earl Van Dyke & Funk Brothers – Nowhere To Run
7. Marvin Gaye – This Love Starved Heart Of Mine
8. Brenda Holloway – Reconsider
9. Gladys Knight & Pips – Here Are The Pieces Of My Broken Heart
10. Martha Reeves & The Vandellas – One Way Out
11. Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell – Aint No Mountain High Enough
12. Contours – Just A Little Misunderstanding
13. Edwin Starr – My Weakness is you
14. Kim Weston – Im Still Loving You
15. Barbara McNair – Baby a Go Go
16. Chris Clark – Do I Love You (Indeed I do)
17. Velvelettes – Lonely Lonely Girl Am I
18. Marvelettes – Ill Keep Holding On
19. Velvelettes – These Things Will Keep Me Loving You
20. Brenda Holloway – When Im Gone

Disc 2

1. Junior Walker & The All Stars – Tune Up
2. Hattie Littles – Love, Trouble, Heartache & Misery
3. Gino Parks & Love – Tones
4. Shorty Long – Out To Get You
5. Mary Wells – Shop Around
6. Temptations – I Want A Love I Can See
7. Four Tops – Gotta Say It, Gotta Tell It Like It Is
8. Marvin Gaye – Lucky Lucky Me
9. Kim Weston – Im Gonna Make It Up To You
10. Frank Wilson – Til You Were Gone
11. Martha & Vandellas – Show Me The Way
12. Dalton Boys – Ive Been Cheated
13. Tammi Terrell & Marvin Gaye – Thats How It Is Since Youve Been Gone
14. Diana Ross – Something On My Mind
15. Odyssey – Battened Ships
16. Isley Brothers – My Love is Your Love Forever
17. Hearts of Stone – If I Could Give You The World
18. Thelma Houston – Nothing Left To Give
19. Reuben Howell – You Cant Stop A Man In Love
20. O C Smith – Im Glad I Fell In Love With You

Motown Floorshakers is out now on Spectrum. Amazon link here:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: